Australian Education System

In Australia, the education system is divided into three areas: primary, secondary and tertiary education. Each of these areas features both public (government-funded) and private (independently funded) institutions, although the majority of private institutions also receive some government funding.

Foundation Studies

As equivalent to Australia’s Year 12, students can choose to take foundation studies. These are university preparation programs that include comprehensive English instruction and designed to prepare international students to study in Australian universities. The programs usually last one year, but may be fast-tracked to 9 months for high-ability students, or those who already satisfied other requirements for their chosen university course. Upon successful completion, universities usually offer a place in one of their programs.

Tertiary Education

There are two main types of tertiary education programs: higher education programs that are offered by universities and vocational education and training (VET). Both types of program are available to international students.

Higher Education

Australia’s universities have been welcoming international students for decades and offer a diverse range of study options. Cultural and religious respect are promoted by all Australian universities.

Although every Australian university has its own standards and course offerings, each one follows a national system which ensures that at undergraduate level, all Australian university degrees are nominally of equal quality. Regardless of what you are studying or how long you are studying for, Australia’s laws promote quality education and protection for international students.

Australia’s higher education structure starts at Bachelor (undergraduate), which is normally of 3 years duration. It may then be be followed by a Masters degree, which is usually 2 years. Students that aspire a doctoral qualification will then take another 3 years.

Vocational Education and Training

VET qualifications are provided by government institutions, called Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institutions, as well as private institutions. TAFE is Australia’s largest provider of vocational education and training. At TAFE, you can choose from a range of courses and training programs that are recognised under the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF). AQF programs are nationally recognised, which means your qualification and skills can be used anywhere in Australia and may also provide you with credit towards further study.